Puggy the dog is looking for a new home in the Montréal area

My name is Puggy and I am a sweet little older dog. My host family loves me very much and only separates from me because they have to. They have told the SPCA a lot about me and how I am in their home, so buckle up to find out if I’m the right dog for you.

When I’m happy, I like to greet my humans with gentle jumps and big stretches (you know what that is). I really enjoy working towards my treats when they are in puzzle form, which is great for my mental health! I’m also very good at learning new tricks. I’m not too shy around strangers, in fact, I love making eye contact with them on the street! I’m still learning to be more comfortable meeting dogs on the street. I am also a good communicator, I like to tilt my head when someone speaks to me. I especially like the word “treat,” because I’m very motivated by food.

I don’t like people to hug me or kiss me all over my face, but that’s to be expected because I’m a little guy in a big world! I love cuddling my humans and lying on their laps, or directly next to them. I particularly like belly rubs. When I love someone so much, I can become protective of them, but with work and patience, it’s easily manageable. I prefer to go to bed at 7 p.m. and am most active at 7 a.m. After 7 p.m., you can expect my attitude to change slightly because it’s past my bedtime. I might growl a little if you bother me or bark if I hear foreign noises because I just want to rest.

In the house, I like to investigate and get involved in everything! I love taking long walks with my humans. I even know what “wait” and “go” mean during walks and meals, I’m so smart!

No children for me please, as I need a quiet environment without too many loud noises. My foster family isn’t sure how I would behave in a home with other animals and suspects I would prefer to be the king of the castle and the only animal in the household. I’m not an easy dog ​​to get to know at first, but once you understand what I need on a day to day basis, I will reward you by being an amazing companion! I’m eccentric, intelligent and full of pep!

Puggy

Puggy

Age: 10 years

Sex: Male

Breed: Mixed Breed, Small (under 24 lbs fully grown)

Size: S

Colour: Beige

Declawed: No

If you would like to adopt this sweet dog, don’t hesitate to fill out the online adoption form!

About this column:

Each week we feature animals available for adoption from local shelters in the Montréal area with the hopes that our readers will assist in finding good homes for them. If you, or someone you know, has the resources to take care of one of these animals, please do get in touch with the appropriate shelter via the links provided.

 

About Demian Vernieri 441 Articles
Demian is an Argentinian retired musician, avid gamer and editor for the Montréal Guardian, Toronto Guardian, Calgary Guardian and Vancouver Guardian websites.